top of page

'How Was I To Know?': The Boo Radleys Find The Fun In A Single About Fumbling Romantic Missteps

The Boo Radleys Find The Fun In The Fumbling Romantic Missteps Of A One-Drink-Too-Many Fool With Pop-Punk Single, 'How Was I To Know?'

The Boo Radleys find the fun in the fumbling romantic missteps of a one-drink-too-many fool with pop-punk single, 'How Was I To Know?' (Credit: Dom Foster/Supplied by Publicist).
The Boo Radleys find the fun in the fumbling romantic missteps of a one-drink-too-many fool with pop-punk single, 'How Was I To Know?' (Credit: Dom Foster/Supplied by Publicist).
  • 'How Was I To Know?', a new song by The Boo Radleys, taken from the forthcoming album, 'Eight'.

  • 'Eight', their new album is set to be released on Friday the 9th of June 2023.

  • The Boo Radleys will be on tour – June & October – November 2023.

  • Third studio album, 'Giant Steps' Reissue to be released on Friday the 1st of September 2023.

  • Pre-Orders and Tickets visit through The Boo Radleys website.

An up-tempo gallop into the brighter months of the year comes via The Boo Radleys who release their ode to beer-sodden romantic misadventure, 'How Was I To Know?' ahead of the summer release of their eighth studio album, 'Eight'.

Setting lead singer, Simon ‘Sice’ Rowbottom at the heart of the story of infatuation gone wrong amidst the foam and fumes of a heavy session, the legendary British genre-hoppers aim for the indie-pop bullseye and don’t miss.

Prior to famously hitting the upper-reaches of the UK charts with 1995’s radio-friendly staple, 'Wake Up Boo!' and signing themselves into music history forever, The Boo Radleys journey through alt-rock, shoegaze and the grey areas in-between denoted them as a curious anomaly amongst critics and fans.

A bag of nails, guitars and synths driven through Sice’s drunken shenanigans!' - Bassist and co-songwriter,Tim Brown, talking about their latest single, 'How Was I To Know?'

With Summer’s 30th Anniversary reissue of their landmark, 1993 album, 'Giant Steps' taking the band back to those adventurous years and new album, Eight, released on Friday the 9th of June 2023, revealing the playful freedoms in the reformed three-piece’s song writing, the rich, stuttering story of The Boo Radleys winds intriguingly through time.

With little to lose from laying it all on the line, the current line-up of The Boo Radleys including Sice, bassist Tim Brown and drummer, Rob Cieka turn to more jovial matters on How Was I To Know? having dealt earnestly with hate and discrimination on their last single, Now That’s What I Call Obscene.

Joining their expected magic with melody with meaningful messages for most of Eight’s 13 tracks, as they did with their heavyweight 2022 album, Keep On With Falling, their latest release and the album’s closer finds the fun in foolishness.

Brown says of the single: 'A bag of nails, guitars and synths driven through Sice’s drunken shenanigans!'

The Boo Radleys live return was celebrated by both the band and their loyal fans when they took to the road for the first time in more than two decades in late 2021, taking in intimate venues across the UK. Kicking off with a SOLD-OUT warm-up date at Reading’s South Street Arts Centre on Tuesday the 13th of June, the band takes to the road in a seven-date tour devoted to Giant Steps before another ‘greatest hits and more’ tour with friends and fellow, John Peel-endorsed indie heroes, Cud happens in October and November.

All of The Boo Radleys’ live dates for 2023 currently announced and on sale are as follows:

  • Tue 13 June – Reading, South Street Arts Centre – SOLD OUT

  • Wed 14 June - London, The Garage

  • Thu 15 June - Tunbridge Wells, The Forum

  • Fri 16 June – Birkenhead, Future Yard

  • Thu 22 June – Dublin, The Grand Social

  • Fri 23 June – Belfast, The Limelight

  • Sun 25 June – Glasgow, Hug and Pint – EVENING SOLD OUT – MATINEE


  • Sat 28 October – Manchester, Bread Shed w/Cud

  • Sun 29 October – Liverpool, O2 Academy 2 w/Cud

  • Mon 30 October – Sheffield, O2 Academy 2 w/Cud

  • Tue 31 October – Birmingham, O2 Institute 2 w/Cud

  • Thu 2 November – Bristol, The Fleece w/Cud

  • Fri 3 November – Oxford, O2 Academy 2 w/Cud

  • Sat 4 November – London, O2 Academy Islington w/Cud

Tickets for all dates can be found via links available through The Boo Radleys website.

'Eight' was announced at the start of the year with The Boo Radleys first new music of 2023, Seeker, a song dedicated to the necessity of having someone by your side through good times and bad. They followed up quickly with The Unconscious, which found Sice singing about his disastrous encounter with psychoanalysis.

The restored, three-piece Boo Radleys have worked towards a new vision of the band, formed around the song writing ideas of each member, since first remaking contact with each other on artistic terms in 2019. Having originally experienced the boom of Creation Records’ 90’s era of big budgets and residential recording studios, the band has embraced complete independence and technological advances to reconnect creatively and push efficiently onwards. Although currently not a member of the band, The Boo Radleys acknowledge and pay tribute to their original guitarist and songwriter, Martin Carr, during live performances.

For further information and advance notice of future releases and live dates, connect with The Boo Radleys online through their social media pages.


bottom of page