top of page

Alex Pester's 'Better Days' Album Set To Release In May Through Liverpool's Violette Records

Updated: Mar 28, 2023

Alex Pester's Highly Anticipated 10-Track "Better Days" Album To Be Released On Violette Records On The 26th Of May 2023

Violette Records have announced the release of 'Better Days,# the highly anticipated new album from Alex Pester, on May 26, 2023.

The ten-track album showcases Pester's unique and unconventional sound, a blend of folk, baroque pop, psychedelia, and experimentalism, and is set to become a defining moment in his young career.

At just twenty-two years old, Pester has already established himself as a prolific singer-songwriter hailing from Bath, England. He has released three albums to date, each displaying his immense talent as a musician and songwriter. Influenced by the Incredible String Band, the Beatles, Robert Wyatt, Animal Collective, Harry Nilsson, and The Microphones, among others.

Pester's music has been described as dreamlike, hypnotic, and magical. "Better Days" is Pester's most accomplished work yet, showcasing his mature songwriting, complex arrangements, and exquisite attention to detail. The album features ten songs that range from instrumentation with vintage sounds to storytelling passages to suggestive sound experiments and acoustic caresses.

A unique blend of influences including Nick Drake, Vashti Bunyan, Joanna Newsom, and Donovan.

The album opens with "Dear Friend," a beautiful song that reassures the listener of the inevitability of change and that hope always prevails. The album continues with a mix of majesty and intimacy, including the fluent poise of upcoming single "Big Black Second-Hand Book," the yearning menace of the instrumental "Restless," and the Nick Drake-infused "You Love Me." The album also features friends on harp, clarinet, violin, and cello inserts, expanding the breadth of sound in his compositions.

Pester's talent shines through every song on the album, and his ability as a musician and songwriter is undeniable. Despite his young age, he has already established himself as a rising star, and "Better Days" is sure to continue to captivate listeners and critics alike.


  1. 1. Dear Friend.

  2. 2. Big Black Second-Hand Book.

  3. I See You.

  4. You Love Me.

  5. So What?

  6. In The Night.You're My Kind.

  7. Restless.

  8. Are You Gonna Make Her Choose?

  9. Bye Bye, Teddy.

The album will have a total of 9 songs and a runtime of 32 minutes and 27 seconds.

Here are the Release Dates for your diary that you can get excited for:

  • 21st of April 2023 - “Big Black-Second Hand Book” (single).

  • 12th of May 2023 - “Are You Gonna Make Her Choose?” (single).

  • 26th of May 2023 - “Better Days” (album).

  • 16th of June 2023 - “In The Night” (single).


bottom of page