Understanding What The Liverpool City Region & City Of Liverpool Mayors Do

The Six Boroughs Of Liverpool Consists Of Two Mayors, Here Is What Each Does & What They Are Responsible For

Liverpool City Region Mayor, Steve Rotheram (Credit: The Liverpudlian/Peter Eric Lang).
Liverpool City Region Mayor, Steve Rotheram (Credit: The Liverpudlian/Peter Eric Lang).

In the Liverpool City Region there are two Mayors that are elected to represent the people of the city.

The City Of Liverpool Mayor represents the Central-most borough of the Region and that is their entire focus as it is the most populous borough and includes the City Centre.

On the other hand the Liverpool City Region Mayor is there to represent all six boroughs and work alongside the City Of Mayor to ensure that the City Region prospers.


The City of Liverpool Mayor is responsible for the City of Liverpool, the central-most Borough in the Region.

Which includes areas such as the City Centre, West Derby, Tuebrook, Knotty Ash, Everton, Allerton, Anfield and Old Swan.

The City of Liverpool Mayor is responsible for the running of local services, driving investment to the City and attending a whole host of arrangements to bring attention to a variety of different projects going on across the City.

The City of Liverpool Mayor forms part of Liverpool City Council.


The Liverpool City Region Mayor is responsible for the wider Liverpool area and covers all six of the boroughs of Liverpool.

They are the City of Liverpool and the Boroughs of Wirral, Sefton, Halton, St. Helens and Knowsley.

The areas in the Six Boroughs includes areas such as Huyton, Bootle, Wallasey, Rainford, Crosby, Birkenhead, Whiston, Litherland, Kirkby, Maghull and Formby.

The City Region Mayor's goal is to better connect the City's boroughs, develop the economy and improve upon investment as well as oversee the devolution deal that Central Government have provided these Mayors with to spend on what the City and its people feel is of the most important.

Essentially, it boils down to Scousers making the decisions over Londoners. The intention is that Liverpudlians can make more informed decisions over what Liverpool Boroughs need as they live here, rather than Londoners that don't live here.

The Liverpool City Region Mayor can also be referred to as the 'Metropolitan Mayor' or 'Metro Mayor' for short.

The Liverpool City Region Mayor forms part of Liverpool City Region Combined Authority which includes all of the six borough councils.


After much deliberation of how the six boroughs could be brought together in a more unifying way, the City's six borough councils agreed to the Liverpool City Region - the Liverpudlian equivalent to The City of London & Greater London as well as The City of Manchester & Greater Manchester.

The Liverpool City Region is:

  • City of Liverpool.

  • Borough of Wirral.

  • Borough of Sefton.

  • Borough of Halton.

  • Borough of St. Helens.

  • Borough of Knowsley.

The Liverpool City Region can also be referred to as simply Liverpool, as well as the Liverpool Metropolitain Area and the Liverpool Bay Area which also encompasses the waters surrounding the six boroughs too.

The Liverpool City Region brings the City's boroughs together under the one roof to further drive unity, investment and a sense of identity.

It has long been suggested by numerous commentators from across the City to unify the six boroughs and seriously suggested through an independent report by Lord Heseltine and Sir Terry Leahy in October 2011 that said: 'Liverpool is the subject of our report. Other cities will have different strengths and opportunities. In passing we refer to Liverpool as the city region including all 6 boroughs and encompassing the LEP area.'